//
you're reading...
AmeriCorps NCCC

The Corps Members are here, the Corps Members are here!

So it’s been a little while since my last post. This is because we’ve been pretty busy. Last week we had a lot of time in our specialized roles to get things ready for the Corps Members to arrive. The Res Life Team starting putting together a social calender so people would have activities to do on the evenings. We also made an agenda for everyone’s first hall meeting the night the Corps Members get here and we made a plan for the day of in-processing.

On the weekend before in-processing started most people went hiking/camping in Yosemite National Park. Me and two others went to San Francisco. We had a blast in San Fran. I got to do a lot of the tourist stuff as well as be shown around by some locals (previous NCCC Corps Members). We walked around Golden Gate Park, the Presidio, the Wharf, had dinner and drinks in the Mission District, walked down Haight-Ashbury, saw the crookedest street in America, and even saw the Blue Angels put on a show over the bay.

We spent Tuesday getting everything ready for in-processing and moving rooms. During TLT all the TLs had rooms to ourselves but since the Corps Members were coming we had to double up so that there would be enough rooms for everyone. We then all went out for a last dinner before CTI.

So the day CTI begins…

Everyone split up into groups to split up the responsibilites for the first day of in-processing. I worked station 1 and was in charge of checking everybody in and giving them their name tags. Most TLs were drivers and were in charge of running vans to and from the airport to pick people up. There were about 15 people or so that had driven in and were ready to go first thing in the morning. Most people came in large groups from the airport and things went relatively smoothly. There were a few planes that were delayed and didn’t get in until later on in the night. There was also one flight that landed in San Francisco and wasn’t able to get on another flight so we sent a van out there to go get them. We also ran out of some sizes of the various parts of the uniform so we’re waiting on more stuff to come in, but all in all not too bad. The only thing that really sucked was that it was raining for the first half of the day… and it never rains in Sacramento. Tuesday and Wednesday were the first time I’d seen in rain here the entire time I’ve been here.

On our first night we all had dinner together and then had our hall meetings to let everyone know what the rules were around here and people were free to get to know everyone and do as they pleased. Some of the TLs decided to get away from the dorms for a little and went out for a drink.

Today was our first day of “traning” with our Pods. I’m Pod Leader 2. Pods are temporary teams that everyone is in until all the TLs get back and we find out who is going to be on the Fuel Reduction Teams. The reason why I put “training” in parenthesis is because we really only did paperwork, finished in-processing, introduced people, and talked a little more about the policies.

On my last post I believe I said I would explain why I serve. I serve for mainly two reasons. 1) Because I want to learn. You learn so much from serving others. In truth it’s not you serving them it’s you serving each other. You get put in so many varying situations that you may never have found yourself in otherwise and it is a great learning opportunity. Not only do you learn about another set of people or community but you may also learn about different issues that may never have occured to you, or an issue that you’ve thought about but never really been able to experience. 2) I serve because I want to bring what my ideal vision of our country/world should be and what it is just a little bit closer. You can have grand plans and ideologies about what a truly great and just society should look like, but if you aren’t actively engaged in shortening that gap then nothing is going to change.

Until next time,

Peace, Love, and Pod 2!

-Nelson

About Nelson

I've spent the past few years traveling around seeing what I can do to improve our world. I've spent 4 years at the University of Michigan studying engineering. I spent a month in Ghana setting up pilot plastic recycling programs. I spent a month in Ecuador studying Spanish, working on an organic farm, and building schools. I spent a month in Israel studying the culture. I was in charge of site development for the North American Summer Service Team at the University of Michigan and was a Site Leader for the Pangaea World Service Team. I was a member of the percussion based stage performance group called Groove for 4 years. I am a founding member and VP of Corporate Social Responsibility for Juice High Voltage Entertainment. I'm currently a Team Leader for AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corps Pacific Region. I've also worked as an engineering intern for Parsons conducting feasibility studies for small towns in Texas in order to see how they could upgrade their public water systems for 3 summers. While attending the University of Michigan I worked with project SERVE to help development service learning initiatives. I am interested in traveling, volunteering, urban and environmental planning/design, always stretching myself and personal development. Lately I've been reading a lot about personal finance and lifestyle design. One day I hope that I'll be either working for or owning my own company that focuses on environmental engineering and international travel and development.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

